Wednesday, November 27, 2019

Act460 Week 3 Essays

Act460 Week 3 Essays Act460 Week 3 Essay Act460 Week 3 Essay Original Data: selling price: 40. 00 Variable Expenses: Invoice Cost: 18. 00 Sales Commission: 7. 00 Total Variable Expenses: 25. 00 Fixed Expenses: Rent: 80,000. 00 Advertising: 150,000. 00 salaries: 70,000. 00 Total Fixed Expenses: 300,000. 00 1. Calculate the annual break-even point in dollar sales and in unit sales for Store 36. Unit Contribution Margin = selling price per unit variable Expenses Unit Contribution Margin = 40. 00 25. 00 Unit Contribution Margin = 15. 0 per shirt Break even point = (target profit + fixed expenses) / unit contribution margin Break even point = (0. 00 + 300,000. 0) / 15. 00 Break even point = 20,000 units Break even point in sales = 20,000 x 40 = 800,000 up to 30,000 shirts sold each year. Clearly indicate the break-even point on the graph. 3. If 19,000 shirts are sold in a year, what would be Store 36s net operating income or loss? Sales (19,000 shirts x 40 per Variable Expenses (19,000 shirts x 25 per shirt) (475,000) Cont ribution Margin 285,000 Fixed expenses (300,000) Net operating Loss (15,000) 4. The company is considering paying the store manager of Store 36 an incentive commission of $3 per shirt (in addition to salespersons commissions). If this change s made, what will be the new break-even point in dollar sales and in unit sales? $3. 00 added commission increases the new variable price to $28 New Data: Manager Commission: 3. 00 Total Variable Expenses: 28. 00 Contribution Margin = 40. 00 28. 00 = 12. 00 0 new contribution margin Break even point = (0. 00 + 300,000) / 12. 0 = 25,000 0 breakeven point in units Break even point in sales = 25,000 x 40. 00 = 1,000,000 0 break even point in sales paying the store manager a $3. 00 commission on each shirt sold in excess of the break-even point. If this change is made, what will be the stores net operating ncome or loss if 23,500 shirts are sold in a year? Sales: 23,500 Original Break Even Point: 20,000 overage: 3,500 Profit to the store = overage in units x contribution margin 3,500 x 12. 00 = 42,000 Oprofit to the store 6. Re fer to the original data. The company is considering eliminating sales commissions entirely in its stores and increasing fixed salaries by $107,000 annually. a. If this change is made, what will be the new break-even point in dollar sales and in unit sales in Store 36? Selling Price: 40. 00 Total Variable Expenses: 18. 00 Additional salaries: 107,000. 00 Total Fixed Expenses: 407,000. 00 Contribution Margin = 40- 18 = 22. 00 0 new contribution margin Break even point = (0+407,000) / 22 = 18,500 0 new break even point in units Break even point in sales = 18,500 x break even point in sales. . Would you recommend that change be made? Explain. It is hard to recommend the proposed change from commission to salary based on the information provided. Additional information would be necessary to make an educated recommendation. What have the previous quarters shown in regards to sales? Although the change from commission to salary would increase the contribution margin and drop the break even point there are many fact ors that hould be considered before implementing this change. If sales teams are changed from variable pay to fixed pay, it may reduce their incentive to sell more shirts to clients. If the shirts essentially sell themselves and dont needed a motivated sales person then the switch may be beneficial. Ultimately it is most companys goals to reduce their break even point, but without further information it is undetermined as to whether this change would be beneficial for Shirts Unlimited. Garrison, R. H. , E. W. Noreen, and P. C. Brewer. Managerial Accounting. Fourteenth. New York: McGraw-Hill/lrwin, 2011 Print.

Saturday, November 23, 2019

Can DNA compose essays

Can DNA compose essays DNA which is also known as the genetic fingerprint is present in many biological substances such as blood, semen, skin cells, bone, and saliva. Because people leave DNA on many items such as cigarette butts, facial tissues, and eyeglasses investigators gather the DNA and use it for evidence in criminal investigations. DNA has been able to identify perpetrators years after they have committed the crime. One such example of this was when detectives in Baltimore County, Maryland, reopened a case and pursued leads in a sexual-assault homicide case that had remained unsolved for 19 years. In an effort to identify DNA evidence from the victim, officers requested the microscopic slides, made during the autopsy, from the chief medical examiner's office. When the DNA came to the laboratory the staff extracted sufficient DNA from the slides to produce a satisfactory DNA profile to assist in solving the case. Although DNA evidence obtained many years ago can contain forensically valuable DNA material there are some enviromental factors that exisit at a crime scene that can affect DNA and render it useless. Examples of these enviromental factors include heat, sunlight, moisture, bacteria, and mold. Also if DNA is not properly obtained and secured the DNA evedience has a good chace that it would degrade. Also when identifying, obtaining, and handling DNA evidence the officers must make sure that they do nothing to contaminate the material. Contamination can occur when the evidence comes in contact with anothers bodly fluids by actions such as sneezing, coughing, or touching. So detectives who obtain DNA must be very careful otherwise if they mistreat it DNA could very easly be rendered useless. ...

Thursday, November 21, 2019

Consumer Law Degree Essay Example | Topics and Well Written Essays - 3000 words

Consumer Law Degree - Essay Example Their Consumer Products Directive, issued in 1986, was designed to make it much simpler for consumers to sue manufacturers for damages resulting from defective products.1 The contrast between the principles of European Community legislation and British law became a point of contention. And so the Consumer Protection Act was written in 1987 to switch the burden from the consumer to the manufacturer. Written to bring English law into closer compliance with the laws of the European Community, this act only requires that the consumer prove that the product was defective, and that the defect in the product caused some sort of harm, either to the person or to the property of the consumer. Subsection 7 of Part I expressly forbids the sort of consent forms that had earlier absolved the manufacturers of any responsibility. Subsection 2 of Part I creates a whole crowd of possible defendants - the consumer may sue the "producer of the product" as well as any person who imported the product, or who put his/her own brand on the product (to make it seem that s/he had produced the product), or even a supplier somewhere along the supply chain, if that supplier does not reveal the source of the product in a sufficient amount of time. The act's definition of a "defect" also calls to mind the sound of plaintiff's attorneys salivating over possible settlements. According to the act, a defect exists if "the safety of the product is not as such as persons generally are entitled to expect." The use of the word "generally" could take many forms in the mind of a socially conscious judge, or in the minds of jurors who had had negative experiences at the hands of defective products. These expectations come from a variety of sources: the marketing, packaging, instruction manuals, and consumer warnings2. Much comedy has arisen from the pedestrian directions and warnings that adorn the packaging of many consumer appliances - who wouldn't know, for example, to remove a hair dryer from the package before attempting use It may well be, however, that each silly instruction comes from a lawsuit brought by someone who did not know what to do. There are several defences available to the manufacturer. Any defect that is a result of compliance with European Community regulations; any defect that did not exist in the product at the time when the consumer used it; and any defect that was not discernible to the manufacturer, because technology at that time did not reveal the defect, would not cause the manufacturer to be liable3. Given that the European Community wanted to foster a climate of geniality toward consumer protection, it is unlikely that it would produce regulations that create defective products. Other than the fact that the consumer has to demonstrate that the product defect led to harm of person or property, the Consumer Protection Act of 1987 appears to do just that. The British government has undertaken a significant public relations effort to ensure that the public is aware of its rights under the CPA. (This effort would come to be self-defeating in the case of the Hepatitis C litigation, as will later come under discussion). The Consumer Affairs Directorate created a consumer guide4 that gives a thorough explanation of consumer